We are delighted to announce the Women in Rail Awards 2022 shortlist.

In the 3 months the nomination process was open, the Women in Rail team received over 300 nominations from – and in respect of – a wide range of individuals, teams and companies in the industry. The judges commented that the calibre of the entries was truly remarkable and selecting who should be shortlisted and ultimately win was a very difficult task.


Best Training or Development Programme Award

Skills 4
Network Rail

Top Employer of the Year Award (Under 250 Employees)

FJD Consulting Ltd
ETS – Egis Transport Solutions

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award

Angelina Sooren – HSQE Director, Ground Control Limited
Anita Gray – Head of Inclusion & Diversity, Worldline IT Services UK Ltd
Karen Wallace – Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager, ScotRail
Northern Trains Ltd
Siemens Mobility
West Midlands Trains

Rising Star of the Year Award

Catherine Baker – Civil Engineer, Mott MacDonald
Ellie Jackson – SHEQ & Social Value Coordinator, Morgan Sindall
Ellie Revill – Assistant Welder / TR80 Hand Grinder, Renown Railway
Jasmine Waller – Mod Technician, TXM Group and Hitachi Rail
Lara Lightfoot – Project Agent, Story Contracting

Inspirational Woman of the Year Award

Ana Maria Castillo Serna – Head of Supply Chain and Category Management, Network Rail
Celia Morris – Divisional Training & Development Manager, Mott Macdonald
Chloe Tucknott – Rail Plant Operations Director, Balfour Beatty
Karen Wallace – Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager, ScotRail
Marie Hill – Chief Transformation & Digitalisation Officer, DB Cargo UK
Nike Folayan – Technical Director, WSP UK Ltd
Susan Harris – Project Controls Director – Transportation, Atkins

Social Inclusion Award

Northern Trains Ltd
Siemens Mobility
TransPennine Express
Transpennine Route Upgrade (West)

Top Employer of the Year Award (Over 250 Employees)

Atkins Ltd
Siemens Mobility
Southeastern Railway

Female Apprentice of the Year Award

Elaine Yip – Apprentice Civil Engineer, Mott Macdonald
Elizabeth Lewis – Environmental & Sustainability Apprentice, Balfour Beatty
Marnie McKay – Engineer, Atkins
Nadia Davidson – Station Sales Clerk, Southern (Govia Thameslink Railway)
Raphaela Boghi – Aspire Apprentice – Performance, Great Western Railway

Inspirational Man of the Year Award

Chris Buckley – Head of Organisation Development, East Midlands Railway
Huw Jones – Divisional Director Rail, BAM Nuttall
Matthew Foote – Route Operations Manager York and Sheffield, Network Rail

The Adeline Ginn Women in Rail Award

To be announced on the evening