Dear Colleagues,

The last few months have been harrowing for many, in the world, our country and our industry.

We have witnessed outstanding acts of kindness and compassion from colleagues within the rail community, especially our key workers.

As we move through uncertain times, the case for fostering a diverse workforce and an inclusive culture in our industry is stronger than ever. To recover faster from the pandemic and build a strong future for rail, our sector needs to be representative of the amazing diversity of the public and communities it serves.

The Women in Rail Awards is a chance to showcase and reward the individuals and companies (large and small) who, in the last few months, have made a significant contribution to improving gender balance, diversity and inclusion within the UK rail sector.

For 2020, we received over 300 entries from a wide range of individuals and rail companies.

The judges’ task of deciding the shortlists was very challenging as the calibre of the nominees was, again this year, exceptional. The nominees’ hard work, passion and dedication was truly inspirational, and each entry acted as a strong reminder of the amazing talent we have in our sector and of what a fantastic industry we work in.

The Women in Rail Awards team are delighted that we are able to recognise and celebrate the inspirational contribution of all the nominees of this year’s Women in Rail Awards and ahead of the winner’s announcements on 22 September, we are delighted to announce the shortlist:


Best Apprenticeship Scheme Award

BAM Nuttall Ltd
Bombardier Transportation
Network Rail Apprenticeships
Rail Delivery Group
STM Group (UK)

Social Inclusion Award

BAM Southern Rail Framework Team
Costain Skanska Legacy Team (Costain Skanska Joint Venture)
HS2 Skills, Employment and Education Team
The Fast Trackers Team
The Parc Prison Collaboration Project (Network Rail Route Services)
Transpennine Route Upgrade – West of Leeds Alliance Team

Female Apprentice of the Year Award

Jaslene Tamber (Advanced Mechanical & Electrical Apprentice, Bombardier Transportation)
Katie Wickham (Assistant Technician Level Crossings, TSP Projects [SYSTRA])
Rachel Halliday (Apprentice Station Manager, GTR)
Ramla Abshir-Slevin (Apprentice Station Manager, GTR)
Tianna Morgan-Seivwright (Business Administration Apprentice, Transport for Wales Rail Services)

Inspirational Man of the Year Award

Brendan M. Sleight (Project Engineering Director, Thales Group)
Chris Hoare (Development Director, AEGIS)
Graham Redman (Associate Director, Arup)
Mat Baine (CEO, CPMS Group)
Simon Gallagher (Commercial Director, VolkerRail)
Tom Higginson (Director – Planning and Land Services, Network Rail)

Best Graduate Programme Award

BAM Nuttall Ltd
Bombardier Transportation
Colas Rail UK
Rail Delivery Group

Top Employer Award

AEGIS Engineering Systems (AES) Limited
Direct Rail Services
Rail Delivery Group
SCS Railways (Skanska Costain Strabag JV)
Southeastern Railway

Rising Star of the Year Award

Gemma Andrews (Design Manager, SCS Railways [Skanska Costain Strabag JV])
Nicole Analise Cox (Graduate Engineer, Siemens Mobility)
Rebecca Richardson (Social Value Advisor, VolkerRail)
Roxana Lupascu (Project Manager, Colas Rail UK)
Vanessa Jasmine Burton (Assistant Civil Engineer, Mott Macdonald)

Inspirational Woman of the Year Award

Claire Mansfield (Head of Design Delivery, BAM Nuttall Ltd)
Emma Dymond (CEO, Motion Rail)
Heather Waugh (Train Driver, Freightliner)
Lydia Fairman (Lead Capability and Development Manager, Network Rail)
Lynsay Collins (Station Operations Manager, Heathrow Airport)
Maria Grazia Zedda (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager, HS2)
Natalie Leister (Area Manager, Tonbridge, Southeastern Railway)
Wendy McCristal (Director, The Mental Wealth Company Ltd)