We are delighted to announce the Women in Rail Awards 2023 shortlist.

Women in Rail received a record number of entries, with over 430 submissions from – and in respect of – a wide range of individuals, teams and companies in the railway sector, many of them from male allies nominating their female co-workers. The judges commented that the calibre of the entries was truly remarkable and selecting who should be shortlisted and ultimately win was a very difficult task.


Best Training or Development Programme Award

CML Training Team
Operational Readiness Team, Transport for Wales (TfW)
QTS Rail Skills Academy
Skills 4 UK Thrive
Training and Development Program for Women@Siemens Mobility UK

Top Employer of the Year Award

Hull Trains
Northern Trains

Female Apprentice of the Year Award

Ellie Morris – Assistant Quantity Surveyor, BAM Nuttall
Fran Coult – Supply Chain Apprentice, Alstom
Milly Johnston – Advanced Rail Technician Apprentice, Siemens Mobility
Rachel Graham – Apprentice Software Developer, Worldline UK&I
Rio Pearce – Apprentice Technician, West Midlands Trains

Female Rising Star of the Year Award

Aamina Shah – Graduate Engineer, Angel Trains
Aishwarya Chidambaram – Consultant, The Hub – Transport Advisory
Amy Teo – Site Engineer, Morgan Sindall Infrastructure
Claire Stevenson – Civil Engineer, Arup
Paige Stevens – Business Management Graduate, Balfour Beatty Rail
Zoe Hall – Project Manager, WSP

Inspirational Woman of the Year Award

Allison Sutherland – Commercial Manager, Network Rail
Claire Mann – Managing Director, South Western Railway
Jess Bates – Client Director, Atkins
Jessica Patterson – Social Outcomes Lead, Mott MacDonald
Joanne Crompton – Heritage Railway Steam Locomotive Fireman, Llangollen Railway
Julie Venn-Morton – Senior Legacy Manager, HS2 Ltd
Kate Hall – Arup Region Board, HS2 London Tunnels Project Director, Arup
Kate Kenny – Senior Vice President & General Manager, P&PS Europe, Jacobs
Nicola Dawson – Audit, Risk and Compliance Manager, ScotRail
Sam Haysom – HR Business Partner, Siemens Mobility

Inspirational Man of the Year Award

Gary Lincoln – Group Director, TXM Group
Jonathan R Wiseman – Customer Experience Director, West Midlands Trains
Julian Phatarfod – Senior Rail Planner, Arup
Tom Flannery – Practice Manager – Rolling Stock Technical Services, Atkins

Social Value Award

Auctus Management Group Ltd
Buckingham Group Contracting
Jacobs’ East West Rail Project Team
Network Rail and Partners on the Transpennine Route Upgrade
Skanska, Costain, STRABAG joint venture

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Team Award

Arup’s UKIMEA EDI Team
Govia Thameslink Railway (GTR) Diversity & Inclusion Team
HS2 EDI Team
Inspire Employee Network, Network Rail
HS2 REACH (Race, Ethnicity & Cultural Heritage) Network

Male Apprentice of the Year Award

Ben Martin – Signal Engineer Apprentice, PM Training and Assessing Ltd
Brad Holdsworth – Service Planning Apprentice, TransPennine Express
Jaims Mcintyre – Assistant Quantity Surveyor, SPL Powerlines UK Ltd
Joe Daniels – Apprentice Project Management, HS2 Ltd
Mark Barron – Ashford Conductor, Southeastern
Sidney Peter Cornish – Trainee Civil Engineer, BAM Nuttall Ltd

Male Rising Star of the Year Award

Daniel Lixandru – Assistant Project Manager, Faithful+Gould
Gurvinder Rathore – Section Engineer, Skanska
Jaims Mcintyre – Assistant Quantity Surveyor, SPL Powerlines UK Ltd
Mohammed Hadawi – Cost Consultant, Gleeds
Oliver Grove – Head of Project Management, Siemens Mobility

The Adeline Ginn Unsung Hero Award

Deborah Rodenby – Youth Liaison Officer, Nexus
Jasmine Robbins – Signalling Apprentice, Thales Ground Transportation Systems UK
Katie Mason – Events Manager, Railway Children
Laura Campbell – Suicide Prevention Manager, Govia Thameslink Railway
Laura Swindells – On Train Service Manager, Chiltern Railways
Laura Warwick – Team Leader and Community Champion, Avanti West Coast
Maureen Dominey – Joint Head of Performance: Southeastern/Kent, Southeastern
Toni Whipps – Mobile Operations Manager, Network Rail

The Adeline Ginn Lifetime Achievement Award

Jane Jones MBE – Head of Public Affairs, Great Western Railway
Julie Garn – Head of Intermodal, GB Railfreight
Lee Woolcott-Ellis – Mental Health Lead Manager, Southeastern
Maria Ion – Project Director, Colas Rail UK / Midland Metro Alliance
Neil Pepper MBE – Construction Manager, London Underground

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Individual Award

Elizabeth O. Umoke – Head of Revenue Protection and Security. EDI Steering Group Lead, Arriva Rail London – London Overground
Kyra Reed – Commercial Director, Arcadis
Laura Phoenix – Senior Legal Counsel, Aufsichtsratsmitglied (Supervisory Board Member, Alstom DE) & Voices of Disability Chair, Alstom
Mkokeli Nkomo – Associate & Team Leader: Systems Engineering Integration & Assurance, WSP
Ola Elhassan – Senior Engineer, Arup